Created Clients vs. Connected Clients

PromicsEdge has two client types: a Created Client, whose account you pay for and manage, and a Connected Client, who owns and pays for their own SelfDecode account and connects it to your dashboard. Use the guide below to choose the right one.

Created Client (You Pay)

You have access to the account, but the client does not.

  • You create clients from your dashboard (My Clients > Add Client > Create a Client).
  • Choose this option if you do not want the client to have their own account.
  • There is no annual fee to maintain access to a Created Client's results.
  • Created Clients cannot access their own data, so it is up to you to share results with them.
  • As a provider, you will retain access to your client's results indefinitely, unless you transfer the ownership to them. In that case, your client will be responsible for paying the renewal fee to maintain access.

Connected Client (The Client Pays)

Both you and the client have access to the account.

  • When a client purchases their own account through your referral link (My Clients > Copy Referral Link), they become a Connected Client.
  • They access their results through a SelfDecode account, and you access their results on your PromicsEdge dashboard.
  • The client pays an annual membership fee. If they do not renew, you also lose access to their results.

How to Choose Your Client Type

Choose Created Clients if:

  • You prefer to actively manage your clients and their health data.
  • You prefer setting custom prices and selling custom bundles.
  • Your clients need extra guidance and prefer you to manage their results.
  • You want to incorporate PDF reports into your existing offer.

Choose Connected Clients if:

  • You have many potential clients (or affiliates) but do not manage them actively.
  • You have independent clients who want to explore their results on their own.
  • You prefer not to handle marketing and sales of reports.

You can also mix and match these models depending on what works best for each client.

How to Change Client Type

You can connect with a Created Client and set them up with their own account:

  1. On your My Clients page, select Connect to the right of the client's name.
  2. The client receives an invitation to create their own password and log in.

Connect a created client on the My Clients page

Important: When you connect and share results, ownership of the account and subscription transfers to the client. They then pay a renewal fee to keep access each year.

  • The subscription's creation date begins when you create the client, not when access is shared. If you connect before one year from the creation date, the client will have time to access results before the account expires. If you connect after one year, they must renew before gaining access.
  • As the provider, you retain access to your client's results indefinitely, unless you transfer ownership to them. In that case, the client is responsible for the renewal fee.

How to Tell Your Client's Type

For a Connected Client, you will see "Connected" to the right of their name on your My Clients page. For a Created Client, you will see an option to connect them (transfer ownership).

Created client vs. Connected client on the My Clients page

Created Client vs. Connected Client


Created Client Connected Client
How do I add the client? Add a Client, do not Connect.

Option 1: Add a Client, then Connect

Option 2: Client orders from a referral link

Access Clients do not have access to results through the SelfDecode platform. Results can be shared externally via PDF reports only. Both you and the client have digital access to results once connected.
Adding lab results You are responsible for uploading lab test results. You or your client may add lab test results.
Type of client Suited for clients who may feel overwhelmed with the data or need more guidance. Suited for autonomous clients who want to explore reports themselves while receiving your guidance.
Private messaging / file sharing Not available. Reports can be shared as downloaded PDFs. You can securely message and share files with clients in the app.

Do My Clients Use SelfDecode or PromicsEdge?

  • Your Created Clients see the PromicsEdge logo on the PDFs you share with them.
  • Your Connected Clients use SelfDecode and see the SelfDecode logo on all products.
  • If you create a client and then connect them (transfer ownership), the client lands on the SelfDecode page.

Still Need Help?

Email us at support@promicsedge.com and we'll assist you.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.